Charles Shere: 
Sonata 2 Compositio ut Explicatio


solo piano

back to list of works

Availability: see below

back to homepage

This second piano sonata is a major work whose three movements, running nearly an hour long, gradually revealing a phenomenological inner logic and brittle clarity that derives from Gertrude Stein’s 1934 lecture Composition as Explanation. I began writing it in 1996 and finished only ten years later; you can read more about this on my blog.
Score available from Frog Peak Music and from available from
Back to Charles Shere worklist       homepage ©Charles Shere 2000
rev. 7/22/12